E3 2013: Xbox One’s Requirements, Launch Countries

We already know that Asia wouldn’t be getting Microsoft’s next console until November 2014, therefore this isn’t relevant unless you’re staying overseas. And no, importing a set wouldn’t work either since it’s always-online.

The 21 supported countries are:

  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Mexico
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Russia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom
  • United States

When the console does decide to reach this part of world, it’ll only be available in “high-growth markets” – namely Taiwan, Hong Kong, Singapore, South Korea and India. They’ll probably name more in the future as part of their expansion, though it’s interesting to note that Japan doesn’t get a mention anywhere. It’s no surprise that Microsoft no longer considers the Japanese market a priority after failed attempts with the Xbox 360. Besides, they’ll need to focus on strengthening Xbox One’s presence in the core territories first.

On the other hand, Sony has yet to announce their launch windows for the PlayStation 4. While the Japan and Asia divisions were merged earlier this year, Sony will likely delay the console’s release in Singapore as they did with the PS3. We’ll keep you posted if we hear anything.



Ade Putra

Ade thinks there's nothing quite like a good game and a snug headcrab. He grew up with HIDEO KOJIMA's Metal Gear Solid, lives for RPGs, and is waiting for light guns to make their comeback.